forgive me father, for I have sinned [story part 36]

October 5, 2012 § 2 Comments


We spiraled up on three different flights of stairs and we ultimately ended up in some kind of an office building, Vatican style, full of priests. I couldn’t believe my eyes.

Half way through the busy corridor, another flight of stairs took us to the third floor, where two people were guarding the top of the stairs, then another two were guarding the massive door that was right in front of the stairs.

The two men guarding the door, upon seeing our small party of four, already started opening the massive doors, each grabbing a handle and pushing in towards the inside.

A big desk in front of an even bigger window, behind which a cardinal or high priest or whatever they are called, was waiting. Me and Regina entered. The two accompanying priests retreated and left.

Behind the desk, one man. He stood up.

From top to bottom he was dressed in weird red and golden clothes, with a an even weirder hat on his head.

The whole dialogue below is a very vivid reconstruction, and is by no means exact. I’m adding reactions and facial expressions as I think they were, but I don’t actually really remember the whole thing. I mainly remember only the start and the conclusion of the whole thing, but here it is how it went, mainly…

“Eminence.” Regina said as she sat down. The priest gestured me into taking a seat also. I did.

“Your highness.” He said looking at Regina, and also sat down behind the desk.

What was this, the battle of the titles? It seemed like a cheeky comedy where three or four doctors meet and they all greet each and every one with “Doctor”.

“Doctor” – “Doctor” – “Doctor” – “Doctor” – “Doctor”. Oh come on.

“Are you the pope?” I asked.

Regina couldn’t help it and cracked up laughing.

“No, I’m not the pope kid.” – He was talking in a perfect American-English accent, and sounded to me more like a cowboy rather than a priest. For starters, he didn’t address me with “my child” and didn’t finish the talk with “bless you”. He was a priest, but not really. If you know what I mean.

The priest turned towards Regina preparing to say something, but then I saw on his face than in a split second he changed his mind in saying that, and just glanced for a second at me and then went back to Regina, prepared to say something else.

“I don’t mean to intrude or ask who this is, but you do understand how sensible this is…”

“Do you think that my children are so famous worldwide because I have problems in deciding who knows what?” – This of course was a rhetorical question. Her “children” weren’t famous, or known at all. She however, dodged the question. Which the priest caught. Most people didn’t, and didn’t ask the question again, but alas, he was no ordinary man I figured, or knew Regina really, really well.

“Don’t dodge my question.” He said. And then looked straight at me.

“Who are you?” He asked me directly.

I looked at Regina then back at him.

“If you’re not the pope, I’m not telling.” I responded. Regina was pleased, she smiled, and he frowned.

Before he got the chance to say anything else, Regina intervened.

“I’m changing everything. The kinship is changing.”

Is it? I thought. If so, this was the first time I was hearing about this.

“He’s part of that change.”

Oh this was becoming more interesting by the second.

“Do you know for how many centuries I’ve been alone?”

“Do you know how many mates of my kind I had, to keep me company?”

“Do you know how many humans I’ve turned in my whole existence?” – Regina said, leaning forward towards him.

He didn’t answer to any of those. They were of course, all, rhetorical questions, and he was waiting for the answer.

“Three.” She responded to the last question herself, and laid back in the chair.

His eyes widened.

“Yes, that’s right. Only three humans.”

“And from those three, two weren’t really planned, and as you already know, Viktoria is not exactly what you would have in mind as a queen.”

“So you’re saying that he….?” The priest tried asking, but was left with his mouth open.

“He’s been with me for a long time, and I plan to keep it that way…” Regina responded.

“Now wait just a second here…” I intervened.

“He doesn’t seem to agree.” The priest intervened also.

“No. Wait. Shut up.” I responded and turned towards Regina.

“We talked about this.” I said.

“Are you not my mate?” She said.

I ignored the question and tried continuing with: “You could tell me your pla…” I didn’t finish.

“Are you or are you not?!” She asked again.

“I am.” I said.

“Then where’s the problem?” She didn’t really want an answer, because she turned towards the priest again.

“In any case, like I was saying. Three.”

I just gave up, would pick it up another time. This wasn’t the place for that discussion.

“That’s why I’m here actually. Because of them.”

“We’re glad you returned, because there’s a little issue of our own that you might see too.” The priest said.

Our?

“First my problem.” She said.

“Very well.” He waited.

I remember the clock behind me. I couldn’t see it, but because of it, I realized how silent the whole building, the whole Vatican was. Right there, waiting for Regina to say something, which couldn’t have been more than two seconds, I felt that hours went by. Just because I heard the clock and realized time is going by fast.

TIC TAC TIC TAC

The sun behind the cardinal was orange. A sign it was close to sundown. Regina knew that also by instinct, I was sure.

Sundown meant a lot for us you see. For most people sundown means fatigue and finally, sleep. We were functioning on reverse, this was our waking hour. Regina was starting to blush and open up. You could literally see the energy flowing through her. Even her lips seemed more plump and her hair seemed to have more volume. Yep, sundown was nearing fast.

“Like I said, I have only but three of my own. All of which were attacked in the same night, thousands of kilometers away. Gunnar, the middle one, was taken.”

“I need to know who is behind this and you can help me.”

“How could I do that?” The priest said.

“We’re moving a large number of the kinship to Istanbul…”

Wait, what? War is coming?

Regina continued to explain to him everything that has happened, and the fact that there were currently some people around Turkey that knew about the kinship, and that needed to be solved. She explained about Viktoria, by whom and how she was attacked. He seemed to understand and agree with everything. In a way…

“Very well, I’ll make the necessary arrangements and grant you permission.” The priest said.

And for the first time, I realized there was so much more I didn’t know about what was going on. I felt like I was on top of the world, before this, I felt like I knew almost everything there is to know, but day by day, Regina continued to show me even more, things that not even her own kind knew, for example where she lives, or her “agreement” with the Vatican. I understood that the safety of the whole kinship, and at times, of a lot of other people, were truly in her hands, and her hands alone. She made herself queen. She made herself responsible. It was her duty. That’s how she felt. 1You cannot comprehend the amount of power and influence this girl had. It’s simply mind-boggling to even think about the number of silent agreements and contacts she had made over the centuries to keep the kinship not only safe, but hidden… And at times, one needed to be sacrificed for the other. That was one important lesson, that I learned, by myself, right there on that chair.

I learned that she, like all of us, was forced to compromise at times. Compromise the secrecy, in front of a select few from Vatican, to guarantee safety for her kind. And then again, sacrifice safety, by putting herself and a lot of dear ones, in front of- literally – a smoking gun, in order to preserve the secrecy – which was something about to happen in Turkey.

There was so much more I didn’t know, that it made me feel helpless and in awe, all the time.

What was happening here? I’ll clarify it with you before going further, something that Regina also did for me.

A select few, this cardinal, the other two priests, the pope himself (I think) and a few inferior-rang priests and nuns, they knew very well who Regina was, what she was, who the kinship was, and more importantly, they were well aware about the need to protect them and keep them hidden. But to my understanding, that’s all they knew. That they existed and were not a myth. Vatican was playing hand-in-hand here with vampires, but not in a game of conspiracy to control the world. It was a game of keeping each other in check.

Regina was in times long past, the sworn enemy of the Vatican, and like-wise, religion in general was the sworn enemy of the kinship. They each wanted the other eradicated, thinking it’s for the best. An agreement was made, a silent one, over the years. We act under your permission and observation, in important matters, and you do the same.

There were are priests in almost each and every vampire territory in Europe, passive, observant, non-intruding and generally out of the loop – but there. In the same respect, Vatican itself – right at the very top – has its own share of the kinship. Observant, silent, non-intruding – but there. The same. A wolf among the sheep. Two, three…?

In hindsight, The Da Vinci Code is NOTHING compared to the extent of this piece of information right here. And you know what? Just making such a statement puts me in a very, very delicate position. Trying to actually prove this, I believe, would be even more impossible or deadly than trying to prove that vampires are among us. Unlike Regina, the Vatican would stop at nothing at shutting me up. Nothing.

But back to the story.

Permission? Regina needed permission to go there? Is this why Turkey, most of it, was out of reach for the kinship? In short: Yes.

In a longer version: Turkey isn’t christian, Vatican has no influence there. However, what Vatican has there, is interest. Interest in keeping it stable, interest in keeping good relations with Ankara, interest in ensuring that they never, ever find out what the Vatican is hiding right under its floor – literally. An army of vampires. An army which was to be en-route to Istanbul very shortly.

So yes, Regina needed permission to go in that specific place. Nowhere else really, except Turkey and another irrelevant far-away land.

By herself, I don’t think she needed any acknowledgement, and by all means, she could have just went there without any notifications, given the fact that apparently she checked in once every 10 years or so, but sending so many of them there, that was another story.

The cardinal agreed with everything actually, he was rather interested in the matter also, because the personal interest of the Vatican was at stake here. Someone “from the other side” was hunting vampires, and that shouldn’t happen.

“Well, you know very well, I need higher approval for this. And as a coincidence, this comes in direct contact with my little own problem.” The cardinal said.

“I’m listening…” Regina added. I was listening too, now more than ever.

“As you may be well aware, Paul died last year…” – This guy right here was referring to Pope John Paul the 2nd.

“And just like it so happened before, there’s trouble in paradise.” He continued.

They were having a discussion only they knew what was about.

“Again?” Regina asked.

“I’m afraid so.” He replied.

“Fine…”

And we stood up right there, and left. All three of us.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to forgive me father, for I have sinned [story part 36]

  • isiah washington says:

    hey enjoying the story so far, hope thats not the last, if its true i understand the need for secrecy, if not good story, the latest mortar atacks wouldnt be connected is it? hope yall are doing well and get revenge for what they did, be it human or vampire, right or wrong, but thats human nature from the beginning of time, destroy what your afraid of or dont understand, i wouldnt be surprised if theyre trying to capture vampires to destroy them or make supersoldiers from their dna or plasma or get information to find others or something to that effect, sorry its so long

  • isiah washington says:

    meant mortar attacks in turkey, or russia ordering the assassinating those two pilots from turkey in syria for distraction to sneak in turkey

Share your thoughts !

What’s this?

You are currently reading forgive me father, for I have sinned [story part 36] at they live among us - not seeing does not equal not existing.

meta

